Crocheted Cowl

In Iowa, November is bitter and requires fires, sleeved blankets, hugs, coffee, and cowls. I found the pattern for this cowl on Pinterest and it is near perfect. It’s worked with a big hook and bulky yarn and requires only basic stitches. I used Lion Brand Homespun Yarn and it is warm and soft (albeit a pain to crochet with because of the texture).

The yarn cost $4.97 at Wal-Mart so I can make a new wool cowl for under $5 whenever I please. These would make great Christmas presents – my mom already borrowed mine briefly and was recalcitrant in giving it back – and they are amusingly versatile. Tonight I used mine as a rasta cap, a headscarf, and, when pulled up over my face, a retreat.

This cowl is quickly becoming standard around-the-house wear. If your neck is cold and you’re looking for a quick project, make one. Now.

Leave a Reply

