Game

Sometimes I wonder: Am I really a good student, or have I just learned to play a complicated game?

I know, I know. This is the kind of question slackers ask, hippies ask, burnouts ask. It does not matter if education is convoluted and impractical; I need to put my head down and do the work, get the grades, just to prove that I can. And I do. And I get that same little competitive thrill when I get a 98% on a paper that I get when I buy a hotel in Monopoly.

But sometimes (and most frequently near the end of the semester) I tend to get very tired of citations and flash cards, theses and rubrics and finals. They all seem like a blur of triple-word spaces, poker chips, and Trivial Pursuit wedges, and I feel like giving up and letting someone else win the paper money.

Leave a Reply

