Five Ways to Get Things Done

Set a timer for thirty minutes and work furiously on a task for that allotted time. I’m always surprised by how much I accomplish.

Make yourself work on something every day, even if some days it’s only for ten minutes. Or, to quote my mother (which  I try to do very rarely), “How do you eat an elephant? One bite at a time.”

Make your list concrete. There are a bazillion ways to make to-do lists on your phone, iPad or computer, and if that works for you, great. However, I find virtual lists far too easy to ignore or forget, so sometimes I like to go old school with a pencil and paper or even a row of sticky notes stuck above my desk.

Under-plan. If you have three hours to study, tell yourself you’ll work steadily at it for one hour and do something else with the rest of the time. When I do this, I often trick myself into getting engaged with the project and I keep working past the one-hour mark. And if I don’t, at least I did an hour of solid work instead of fooling around for three.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Get off your blog and do your homework, Margeaux.

Leave a Reply

