A Handmade Birthday

photo (26) photo (27) photo (28)

My youngest sister’s birthday is one day before mine. Today she turned five and tomorrow I turn twenty. We celebrated today with lunch at Steak n’ Shake and cake and presents at home. Low-key, and for me and my fiance, bookended by homework, but that’s life.

I stayed up until 2 last night making my sister’s cake. It has two layers of chocolate cake and two layers of funfetti cake; it’s filled with fudge frosting and frosted with pink vanilla buttercream. The best part of making homemade cakes is cutting them and seeing the layers, cohesive and colorful, cake dissection.

Her gift was a crocheted panda amigurumi. I used this tutorial and it’s excellent. This birthday came together easily. Sometimes I try to force myself to be creative for special occasions and it backfires, but this was lovely.

Leave a Reply

