Gluten-Free + Low(er) Carb Breakfast Ideas Part 1: Protein Pancakes

Protein Pancakes

As my pregnancy winds down (my due date is November 6th already!), I am trying to  curb my carb- and wheat-centric ways that I’ve given free reign for the past nine months. Bagels, cornbread, cereal, sandwiches, egregious amounts of fruit, pasta, and DESSERTS – all have figured prominently into my diet and I’ve been pretty much okay with that. But I know the party has to end eventually.

This means slowly reintroducing healthier habits, starting with making gluten-free and lower-carb breakfasts for Z and me every day. I find that if I eat lots of protein and/or fat in the morning I’m less likely to a) get super-hungry mid-morning, b) eat poorly the rest of the day, and c) feel tired and lethargic.

However, usually the only thing that sounds good to me is  a big bowl of Honey Bunches of Oats or a cinnamon-raisin bagel soaked in butter. Through trial-and-error I’ve found some healthier options that I can stomach (and actually enjoy!). They’re easy to make or prepare ahead of time and Z likes them too.

#1: Protein Pancakes 

Recipe here. These are the best-tasting higher-protein pancakes I’ve found and they’re not a pain to make either. It’s nice to make a bunch ahead of time and eat leftovers for a few days in a row. I top them with plain Greek yogurt, raspberries, and a little sugar-free syrup. And you can’t beat 200 calories and 22 grams of protein per 3 pancakes!

More ideas to come! I’ve been working on my food photography this week with the help of Helene Dujardin’s fabulous book Plate to Pixel: Digital Food Photography & Styling and I need practice 🙂

6 thoughts on “Gluten-Free + Low(er) Carb Breakfast Ideas Part 1: Protein Pancakes

Leave a Reply

