Christmas Decorations 2014

Last Christmas Zach and I went to Florida for two weeks so our Christmas decorations were pretty minimal…in fact, the tree pictured in my bathroom below was our only Christmas tree! This year, we are sticking around WI for the holidays and I decided that we needed a real tree. Zach’s aunt and uncle happening to have a little one in their backyard that they wanted to cut down so we were able to cut our own for free. Between that and some fortuitous thrifting finds, I’ve been able to decorate just how I’d like without spending very much money. Leaves more for presents 🙂

christmas1

I found these Crate and Barrel kitchen towels at a local thrift store for $1.99…

christmas2

…this was last year’s tree, complete with mini lights and ornaments and a Christmas pickle. I love the mini tree idea and would like to do a more DIY one down the road (maybe use clay for ornaments?).

christmas4

I found this cute printable online and displayed it in a frame/stand left over from my wedding dessert buffet.

christmas5

Our stockings were bought 50% off at Hobby Lobby and I used an over-the-door purse hanger (closed in our TV stand drawer) as a stocking hanger. It works really well and I already owned it!

christmas6And finally, our Christmas tree! The ornaments are a mix of shatterproof balls from Farm and Fleet and vintage finds from Goodwill. I bought the star 50% off at Hobby Lobby and made the tree skirt with 1 1/4 yards of fuzzy felt bought at Hobby Lobby with one of their 40% off coupons. I followed this simple diagram (scroll down) to cut the felt and ended up with a tree skirt for just over $3.

How are you decorating for the holidays this year?

One thought on “Christmas Decorations 2014

  1. Looks fabulous, your tree is great.
    I like to have a large bowl of oranges studded with cloves, add a trim of red ribbon – looks and smells great, and v inexpensive!

Leave a Reply

