Workout Journal (Week of 12.7.14)

Sunday – NTC Ab Routine (15 min.)

I’m really liking the Nike Training Club app. Zach and I did a 15 minute ab routine on the living room floor while discussing how we wanted Ben and Jerry’s and it was surprisingly hard. We didn’t get ice cream afterwards either.

Monday – 1 Hour Zumba Class

Same class as last week but with a substitute teacher. It’s amazing how different Zumba teachers can be – the regular is definitely much more fun. Zumba can really easily become step aerobics which I HATE. The usual teacher turns it into actual dancing, though.

Tuesday – 20 Min. PiYo Video

Zach did this BeachBody program while I was pregnant and I’m just now getting into it. I like it – however, after my recent hour-long yoga classes, this workout felt kind of like a cop-out.

Wednesday – 1.7 Mile Walk

I went walking with the same friend at the same park again this week. We go around 4:30 just when the sun is setting and, oddly enough, I enjoy the cold and dark. It’s nice to get in touch with nature even when nature isn’t particularly inviting. We saw a bunch of geese, two muskrats, and a few rabbits.

Thursday – 20 Min. PiYo Video

This was an upper body workout with a lot of pushups…I needed it. I can barely do full-body pushups anymore and I miss having that ability – one of my short-term goals is to regain that!

Friday – Tone It Up Video + 30 Min. “Run”

As much as I dislike the style of Tone It Up (the pastel colors, trashy outfits, use of the word “tone” – which is pretty much irrelevant in fitness culture now – and general sorority vibe) their workouts are decent and work for my current fitness level and lack of gym membership. The arm workout I did was challenging with my 10 lb. weights. This week’s attempt at running was about as sorry as last week’s. My phone died halfway through so I don’t know what my exact pace was, but let’s just say it wasn’t great.

Saturday – Rest Day

I’m feeling slightly discouraged fitness-wise this week. As a person, I have a hard time being patient while working towards a goal that is still really far away. I’ve been in much better shape in the past than I am currently and that’s hard for me mentally. But I’m sticking with it! Exercising every day has helped me keep my emotions in check postpartum and upped my confidence too.

Leave a Reply

